Skip to product information
1 of 0

When the Eagle Hunts (Eagles of the Empire 3)

  • Author
    • Simon Scarrow
Format
Regular price £10.99
Regular price Sale price £10.99
IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME!

WHEN THE EAGLE HUNTS is the compelling third novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. For fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. 'Scarrow's [novels] rank with the best' Independent

Britannia, AD 44. Cato, a thoughtful junior officer in the Roman army, and his commanding centurion, Macro, are simply pawns in Rome's lust to conquer Britain. During the freezing winter, the two men and their legion fight the native savages in hand-to-hand battles that haunt Cato for days after.

But in a place full of enemies, the most vicious are the Druids of the Dark Moon; brutal, merciless men who have captured the wife and children of General Plautius himself.

So Macro and Cato are given a mission: to travel deep into enemy territory and recover the hostages. If they fail, the fate of the Roman army may just hang in the balance...
  • Published: Nov 30 2017
  • Pages: 448
  • 198 x 130mm
  • ISBN: 9780755349975

Not available for shipping to the following countries:

  • ASM
  • GUM
  • MNP
  • UMI
  • FSM
  • MHL
  • PHL
  • PRI
  • USA
  • VIR
View full details

Press Reviews

  • Bernard Cornwell

    Praise for Simon Scarrow's novels: 'I really don't need this kind of competition... It's a great read'
  • Independent
    Scarrow's [novels] rank with the best
  • The Times
    Gripping and moving
  • Good Book Guide
    A satisfyingly bloodthirsty, bawdy romp...perfect for Bernard Cornwell addicts who will relish its historical detail and fast-paced action. Storming stuff
  • Daily Express
    Ferocious and compelling
  • Sunday Sport
    A Rome full of HOUSE OF CARDS treachery... Roman soldiering at its very best - even by Scarrow's high standards - in this winning chunk of historical fiction
  • Mail on Sunday
    Rollicking good fun
  • BBC History Magazine
    A fast-moving and exceptionally well-paced historical thriller