Skip to product information
1 of 1

This Is How It Always Is

A REESE'S BOOK CLUB PICK
  • Author
    • Laurie Frankel
Format
Regular price £10.99
Regular price Sale price £10.99
'A very special book about a family with a secret. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me think.' Liane Moriarty, No. 1 bestselling author of THE HUSBAND'S SECRET

Laurie Frankel's THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS the 'fascinating story of a thoroughly modern family and the giant, multifaceted love that binds them... Sparkles with wit and wisdom' (Maria Semple). Perfect for readers of WE ARE ALL COMPLETELY BESIDE OURSELVES and THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY.

This is how a family keeps a secret...and how that secret ends up keeping them.

This is how a family lives happily ever after...until happily ever after becomes complicated.

This is how children change...and then change the world.

This is Claude. He's five years old, the youngest of five brothers, and loves peanut butter sandwiches. He also loves wearing a dress, and dreams of being a princess.
When he grows up, Claude says, he wants to be a girl.

Rosie and Penn want Claude to be whoever Claude wants to be. They're just not sure they're ready to share that with the world. Soon the entire family is keeping Claude's secret. Until one day it explodes.

Laurie Frankel's THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS is a novel about revelations, transformations, fairy tales, and family. And it's about the ways this is how it always is: Change is always hard and miraculous and hard again, parenting is always a leap into the unknown with crossed fingers and full hearts, children grow but not always according to plan. And families with secrets don't get to keep them forever.

'An intelligent, life-affirming, emotionally charged story' Prima
  • Published: Jan 11 2018
  • 198 x 130mm
  • ISBN: 9781472241610

Not available for shipping to the following countries:

  • ASM
  • CAN
  • GUM
  • MNP
  • UMI
  • FSM
  • MHL
  • PHL
  • PRI
  • USA
  • VIR
View full details

Press Reviews

  • Prima
    An intelligent, life-affirming, emotionally charged story. This is a very relevant read for today's world - it'll make you laugh and cry
  • Woman & Home
    Thought-provoking and topical
  • Red
    Wonderful, magical
  • Redbook
    This wise and often funny novel is a compassionate lesson in discovering and welcoming what makes each of us unique
  • Publishers Weekly
    Sharp and surprising. This is a wonderfully contradictory story - heartwarming and generous, yet written with a wry sensibility
  • People, 'Book of the Week'
    This big-hearted novel about a family with a transgender child is in the lead for the most sensitively and sincerely told story of 2017... Frankel's portrayal of even the most open-hearted parents' doubts and fears around a child's gender identity elevates this novel
  • Glamour
    A fresh new voice
  • Good Housekeeping
    A touching novel
  • Straits Times
    A tender, endearingly human piece of work
  • Irish Country Magazine
    A heart-warming and bittersweet story of identity and family
  • Sunday Mirror
    Huge heart, humour and compassion. A sparkling tale about the power of secrets, loyalty and love, this novel is wonderfully engaging, gorgeously written and has characters that will captivate you
  • Sunday Express
    Written with wry humour and compassion, this is a personal story of parenting, love and understanding
  • New York Times Book Review
    Deeply satisfying...An intimate family story...Day-to-day parenting dilemmas are where Frankel shines
  • Seattle Times
    Brave, complicated, occasionally horrifying and frequently very funny...Frankel is a first-rate storyteller
  • Garth Stein, author of THE ART OF RACING IN THE RAIN

    A beguiling tale of a sprawling, loving, ever-changing, unconventional and yet completely typical modern family... Wonderfully moving
  • Ruth Ozeki, bestselling author of A TALE FOR THE TIME BEING

    An astonishing balance of humour, complexity, and above all, kindness
  • Maria Semple, bestselling author of WHERE'D YOU GO, BERNADETTE

    A lively and fascinating story of a thoroughly modern family and the giant, multifaceted love that binds them. THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS sparkles with wit and wisdom
  • Elizabeth George, bestselling author of A BANQUET OF CONSEQUENCES

    With emotional acuity, admirable bravery, utter compassion, and complete understanding, [Frankel has] created a family attempting to forge a path through one of life's most mystifying challenges: how to define what it is that makes your child who he or she is: unique, beloved, and whole. This is a novel everyone should read. It's brilliant. It's bold. And it's time
  • Liane Moriarty, bestselling author of THE HUSBAND'S SECRET and TRUE LITTLE LIES

    I was lucky enough to receive an advance reading copy of this very special book about a family with a secret. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me think.
  • Katie Fforde

    Heart-warming and funny... I found this both unputdownable and enlightening. I'm so glad I've read it - I know so much more about life now
  • Adele Parks

    A beautiful, thought-provoking novel that will make you think differently about the world