Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Traitor's Wife

Heartbreaking WW2 historical fiction with an incredible story inspired by a woman's resistance
  • Author
    • Sarah Steele
Format
Regular price £10.99
Regular price Sale price £10.99

Anticipated publication date

Mar 14, 2024

We will deliver the product within a reasonable period of time following the publication date, which is an estimated date and is subject to change. Whilst we anticipate that the book will be published on this date, should this date change, we will notify you within a reasonable period of time.

'Do it,' she said to the German, her voice a rasping whisper. 'Shoot me if you dare. I am Maddalena.'

'A must-read in historical fiction' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
'I loved this book - a perfect summer read' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
'A great book . . . romance, heartbreak, intrigue and triumph - what's not to like!' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
'Captivating plot with lots of twists and turns' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
'Very well told story about the resilience and bravery women possess' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
-----
The spellbinding new book from the USA Today bestselling author of The Schoolteacher of Saint Michel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale and The Paris Library.

Naples 1943

Luisa Giordano has faced many losses: her mother to a deadly illness, the man she loved to the Nazis when war came to Italy, and her unborn child at the hands of her own husband. All Luisa has left is her voice, and when she learns her husband is colluding with the enemy, she knows she must use it to fuel the women of Naples with fire.

Los Angeles 1962
Hollywood starlet Lola Hart has come a long way from the backstreets of Naples, the glamorous parties a way to dull the pain of the past. When she is offered the role of a lifetime portraying a heroine of the Italian resistance, she knows returning home means confronting old ghosts. But as she seeks out the story behind the film, she realises there are many in Naples with secrets, and that the woman she is to play held the greatest one of all...

Inspired by the stories of the heroines of the Italian Resistance, this is a heart-wrenching dual-timeframe story which is a portrait of war and a powerful exploration of how far we will go to protect our families, set between World War II Naples and the glamorous Golden Age of Hollywood.
-----
READERS LOVE SARAH STEELE:
'I just loved it!' KATIE FFORDE
'I can taste the gelato and the sweetness of La Dolce Vita in Italy of the 1960s, coupled with the bitterness of wartime intrigue and betrayal. A perfect combination' MANDY ROBOTHAM
'A gripping and atmospheric read' TESSA HARRIS
  • Published: Mar 14 2024
  • ISBN: 9781472294326

Not available for shipping to the following countries:

  • ASM
  • CAN
  • GUM
  • MNP
  • UMI
  • FSM
  • MHL
  • PRI
  • USA
  • VIR
View full details

Press Reviews

  • Katie Fforde

    Sarah Steele combines the best aspects of an unputdownable thriller with beautiful writing and characters who live and breathe. I just loved it!
  • Tessa Harris

    A gripping and atmospheric read. As smouldering and compelling as it is satisfying: mystery, love and redemption. It has it all.
  • Mandy Robotham

    I can taste the gelato and the sweetness of La Dolce Vita in Italy of the 1960s, coupled with the bitterness of wartime intrigue and betrayal. A perfect combination
  • Emma Flint

    Delicious . . . Part history of the liberation of Naples in 1943 and part love story, [The Traitor's Wife] is peppered with colourful glimpses of 1960s Hollywood . . . sweet, sensual, tense and tragic. A perfect summer read
  • Annie Lyons

    A thrilling dual timeline story combining the glamour of Hollywood with gripping tales of the women of the Italian Resistance. Told with such vivid beauty and featuring a cast of incredible women, I felt as if I'd been swept away to the backstreets of Naples. Heartbreaking, beautiful and utterly compelling.