Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Sleeper

Two strangers meet on a train. Only one gets off. A dark and gripping psychological thriller.
  • Author
    • Emily Barr
Format
Regular price £9.99
Regular price Sale price £9.99
A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn's GONE GIRL and Sophie Hannah.

Lara Finch is living a lie.

Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. But then Lara vanishes from the night train without a trace. Only her friend Iris disbelieves the official version of events, and sets out to find her. For Iris, it is the start of a voyage that will take her further than she's ever travelled and on to a trail of old crimes and dark secrets. For Lara, it is the end of a journey that started a long time ago. A journey she must finish, before it destroys her...
  • Published: Jul 04 2013
  • Pages: 416
  • 197 x 133mm
  • ISBN: 9780755388004

Not available for shipping to the following countries:

  • ASM
  • GUM
  • MNP
  • UMI
  • FSM
  • MHL
  • PHL
  • PRI
  • USA
  • VIR
View full details

Press Reviews

  • Elizabeth Haynes
    The Sleeper makes for breathless, compulsive reading, with characters so real you almost feel like you know them well enough to ring them up and ask them what on earth is going on. Emily achieves what other writers cannot - her books are just getting better and better.
  • Glamour
    We can't praise Emily Barr's novels enough; they're fresh, original and hugely readable
  • Cosmopolitan
    Sleep-sabotagingly moreish
  • The Times
    A great read from start to finish...believable characters that are variously biting, insightful and sympathetic
  • Kirkus
    A gripping piece of fiction spiked with an unnerving amount of psychological tension
  • Closer
    One brilliantly compelling page-turner
  • Telegraph
    A tense and gritty read with echoes of Daphne du Maurier's Don't Look Now