Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Other Side of the World

  • Author
    • Stephanie Bishop
Format
Regular price £10.99
Regular price Sale price £10.99
A tender and gorgeously written novel of a marriage in crisis in the tradition of Revolutionary Road, THE OTHER SIDE OF THE WORLD by Stephanie Bishop was an Australian bestseller (2015), and winner of the ABIA Award for Literary Fiction Book of the Year and the 2015 Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction. It has gone on to garner international literary acclaim.

'A stunning writer... her attention to detail makes each scene visceral' New York Times

'As a portrait of a marriage and motherhood, THE OTHER SIDE OF THE WORLD was the most outstanding novel of the year for me. It's beautifully written, profound and deeply moving' Hannah Beckerman, Express Books of the Year

Cambridge 1963. Charlotte struggles to reconnect with the woman she was before children, and to find the time and energy to paint. Her husband, Henry, cannot face the thought of another English winter. A brochure slipped through the letterbox gives him the answer: 'Australia brings out the best in you'.

Charlotte is too worn out to resist, and before she knows it is travelling to the other side of the world. But on their arrival in Perth, the southern sun shines a harsh light on both Henry and Charlotte and slowly reveals that their new life is not the answer either was hoping for. Charlotte is left wondering if there is anywhere she belongs, and how far she'll go to find her way home...
  • Published: Jun 30 2016
  • Pages: 320
  • 196 x 128mm
  • ISBN: 9781472230621

Not available for shipping to the following countries:

  • ASM
  • AUS
  • SLB
  • CAN
  • CXR
  • CCK
  • COK
  • FJI
  • KIR
  • GUM
  • HMD
  • NRU
  • VUT
  • NZL
  • NIU
  • NFK
  • MNP
  • UMI
  • FSM
  • MHL
  • PNG
  • PHL
  • PRI
  • TKL
  • TON
  • TUV
  • USA
  • VIR
  • WSM
View full details

Press Reviews

  • Cathy Rentzenbrink

    Bookseller (Editor's Pick)
    Atmospheric - the contrast between the two cultures and climates is very well done
  • Hannah Beckerman, Author of The Dead Wife's Handbook

    Perceptive, wise and exquisitely written, this novel had me turning the pages with heart-stopping urgency. I could not have loved it more
  • Carys Bray, author of A Song for Issy Bradley

    There are moments in this novel that are so beautifully and painfully evoked... I thought about it for days afterwards
  • Stylist
    Unflinching but tender... a moving story of marriage, home and self-discovery
  • The Australian
    The novel thrums with an elegiac hum and is soft with the shifting light and worn textures of memories... magnificent...the precision and flair of the writing is breathtaking
  • Optima Magazine
    Utterly heartrending...a subtle and moving book
  • Random Things Through My Letterbox

    Her ability to describe landscapes and places is quite stunning... A slow-moving, gently unfurling story that is sure to be a huge success for Stephanie Bishop ... oh, and that ending...
  • Candis
    A beautiful story about parenthood, marriage and a young mother's bewilderment by change, responsibility and duty
  • New Books Magazine
    a painfully intimate portrait of a marriage in crisis and of a woman on the verge of losing herself... a read-in-one-sitting kind of book, and perfect for book clubs. You'll be debating this one for hours!
  • Good Housekeeping
    A spellbinding and beautifully written debut by Stephanie Bishop, about a woman struggling with life as a new mother after she's uprooted by her husband to Australia
  • The Bookbag
    A beautifully written book... I delighted in the poetic style of Stephanie Bishop's writing and loved the evocative images of the Australian and English (and Indian) landscapes. She captures the intensity of the heat in the southern hemisphere and contrasts this with the melancholic dimness of an English winter
  • Lady
    Her descriptions pulse with feeling... A tender portrayal of the power of memory, the pull of place and the fragility of family relationships, this is thoroughly enjoyable
  • Glamour
    Intelligent and poignant
  • Big Issue
    A beautifully written novel... There are shades of Anne Tyler and Raymond Carver - names not to be thrown around lightly
  • Sainsbury’s Magazine
    A breathy, sensual conjuring up of two countries, two people steeped in their own sense of nostalgia, beating with a page-turning pulse
  • Sunday Express
    This powerful, insightful novel has an evocation of motherhood any parent will recognise
  • Daily Mail
    Bishop writes with great sympathy about two individuals whose sense of themselves has come adrift, and her atmospheric scenes are painted with an arrestingly vivid palette
  • Joanna Cannon, author of THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP

    One of the most beautiful stories I have read in a long time. Against an epic backdrop lies a deeply personal story of home and identity, and I fell in love from the very first page. Surely a classic in the making.
  • Irish News
    The dramatic ending will certainly stay with me for a long time
  • Mirror
    A powerful description of a marriage in crisis
  • Sarah Moss, author of NIGHTWAKING and BODIES OF LIGHT

    Clear, strong prose and a story shaped by intelligence of steel
  • Irish Examiner
    Tenderly written... the dramatic ending will stay with me for a long while
  • Observer
    An insightful, exquisitely observed novel... deserves to make many a book prize shortlist
  • Guardian.com
    Stephanie Bishop's second novel is a stunning work of Australian fiction about marriage and family, homesickness and nostalgia. Bishop's elegant and beautiful prose stayed with me long after finishing the final page and I found myself returning to reread passages. The Other Side of the World is definitely a standout, must-read novel of 2015.
  • Express
    As a portrait of a marriage and motherhood, THE OTHER SIDE OF THE WORLD was the most outstanding novel of the year for me. It's beautifully written, profound and deeply moving.