Skip to product information
1 of 0

The Last Hours in Paris: A powerful, moving and redemptive story of wartime love and sacrifice for fans of historical fiction

  • Author
    • Ruth Druart
Format
Regular price £8.99
Regular price Sale price £8.99
'Wonderful... A heartbreaking story of the power of love and forgiveness' JILL MANSELL
'A tender yet thrilling story of love and family secrets in time of war' RACHEL HORE
'I was so engrossed. Wonderful, moving and uplifting' LESLEY PEARSE
'Love, loss, bravery... Ruth is an exceptional storyteller' ERICKA WALLER

From the international bestselling author of WHILE PARIS SLEPT, a beautiful, heartwrenching and unforgettable novel of two people bound by love, torn apart by war and entwined forever by an extraordinary sacrifice.

Paris 1944. Elise Chevalier knows what it is to love...and to hate. Her fiancé, a young French soldier, was killed by the German army at the Maginot Line. Living amongst the enemy Elise must keep her rage buried deep within.

Sebastian Kleinhaus no longer recognises himself. After four years spent fighting a war he doesn't believe in, wearing a uniform he despises, he longs for a way out. For something, someone, to be his salvation.

Brittany 1963.
Reaching for the suitcase under her mother's bed, eighteen-year-old Josephine Chevalier uncovers a secret that shakes her to the core. Determined to find the truth, she travels to Paris where she discovers the story of a dangerous love that grew as a city fought for its freedom. Of the last stolen hours before the first light of liberation. And of a betrayal so deep that it would irrevocably change the course of two young lives life for ever.

'From the moment I started reading this book I could not put it down ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐' REAL READER REVIEW

'An excellent read for fans of WW2 fiction ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐' REAL READER REVIEW

'A gripping story, well-written and about little-known events ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐' REAL READER REVIEW

'Outstandingly beautiful and brilliantly poignant ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐' REAL READER REVIEW

'I devoured the characters, marvelled at the storyline and really didn't want it to end ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐' REAL READER REVIEW

'This kept me captivated on every page' PRIMA MAGAZINE

'Poignant and evocative, this is historical wartime fiction at its finest' CULTUREFLY

Acclaim for the unforgettable international bestseller WHILE PARIS SLEPT:

'You'll have your heart in your mouth and tears on your cheeks as it reaches its rich, life-affirming conclusion... Had me completely and utterly enraptured' LOUISE CANDLISH
'What a book... Emotional and heartrending...absolutely phenomenal. I was on tenterhooks throughout. A wonderful achievement' JILL MANSELL
'I absolutely loved it. Wonderful believable characters and it moved me to tears. Fabulous' LESLEY PEARSE
'A heartbreaking debut' JANET SKESLIEN CHARLES
'An amazing story of love, resilience and the human spirit' TRACY REES
'Brace yourself for a brilliant read. This will tug at your heartstrings' BEST
'Made me think and cry and rage and smile at mankind's capacity for both terrible, heartbreaking cruelty and beautiful, selfless love' NATASHA LESTER
'A gripping tale of love and sacrifice' WOMAN & HOME
  • Published: Jan 05 2023
  • 194 x 126mm
  • ISBN: 9781472268020

Not available for shipping to the following countries:

  • AFG
  • ASM
  • ATG
  • ARG
  • BHS
  • ARM
  • BRB
  • BMU
  • BOL
  • BRA
  • BLZ
  • IOT
  • VGB
  • BRN
  • MMR
  • KHM
  • CAN
  • CYM
  • CHL
  • TWN
  • COL
  • CRI
  • CUB
  • DMA
  • DOM
  • ECU
  • SLV
  • GRD
  • GLP
  • GUM
  • GTM
  • GUY
  • HTI
  • HND
  • HKG
  • IDN
  • JAM
  • JPN
  • KAZ
  • PRK
  • KOR
  • KGZ
  • LAO
  • MAC
  • MYS
  • MTQ
  • MEX
  • MNG
  • MSR
  • CUW
  • ABW
  • SXM
  • BES
  • NIC
  • MNP
  • UMI
  • FSM
  • MHL
  • PAN
  • PRY
  • PER
  • PHL
  • TLS
  • PRI
  • KNA
  • AIA
  • LCA
  • MAF
  • VCT
  • SGP
  • VNM
  • SUR
  • TJK
  • THA
  • TTO
  • TKM
  • TCA
  • USA
  • VIR
  • URY
  • UZB
  • VEN
View full details

Press Reviews

  • Jill Mansell

    Praise for Ruth Druart: 'What a book . . . Emotional and heartrending . . . absolutely phenomenal. I was on tenterhooks throughout. A wonderful achievement
  • Woman & Home
    Historical fiction fans, rejoice! A new voice has entered the arena and she's one to watch. A heartrending story told from the perspectives of two families living very different lives, it is also one of hope amid tragedy. Perfectly paced and plotted, and evocatively written
  • Louise Candlish

    You'll have your heart in your mouth and tears on your cheeks as it reaches its rich, life-affirming conclusion. Both epic and intimate, this unexpected story had me completely and utterly enraptured
  • Best
    Brace yourself for a brilliant read. This will tug at your heartstrings
  • Natasha Lester

    While Paris Slept made me think and cry and rage and smile at mankind's capacity for both beautiful, selfless love and terrible, heartbreaking cruelty. Prepare to be thoroughly engrossed in this compelling book
  • Lesley Pearse

    What a book, I absolutely loved it. An ingenious plot, wonderful believable characters and it moved me to tears. A fabulous read
  • Janet Skeslien Charles, author of The Paris Library

    A heartbreaking debut. The novel delves into eternal questions: How far will we go to protect our child? Is love holding tightly or letting go?
  • Imogen Kealey, author of Liberation

    A powerful and poignant debut from a brilliant and bold new novelist