Skip to product information
1 of 1

The First Time I Saw You

the most heartwarming and emotional love story of the year
  • Author
    • Emma Cooper
Format
Regular price £9.99
Regular price Sale price £9.99
Beautifully observed, tender and genuinely funny' Josie Silver

'Funny, original storytelling, an emotional rollercoaster packed with twists and turns that tugged at all my heartstrings' Holly Miller

'A profoundly affecting, beautifully written story packed with heart and hope' Miranda Dickinson

Lost:
Six-foot-two Irish man who answers to the name Samuel McLaughlin.
Has weak shins and enjoys show tunes.
If found, please return to Sophie Williams.

Sophie Williams has the perfect career and it's all she needs to shut herself off from the rest of the world, and more importantly, the secrets of her past.

Samuel McLaughlin is an open book. He lives for the present and life for him is his big Irish family and his friends.

Against all expectation, Samuel breaks down the walls of Sophie's ordered world and they spend the perfect week together, but when Sophie discovers the terrible truth, she is forced to leave.

But as Samuel begins searching for Sophie, a life-changing event alters how he sees life forever.

And with each passing week, Sophie seems further and further from his reach.

From the author of The Songs of Us (shortlisted for the RNA Contemporary Novel Award) comes a love story that will 'break your heart, but put it back together again' (Katie Fforde). Fans of Jojo Moyes and Lucy Dillon will love The First Time I Saw You by Emma Cooper.

'An evocative, warm and character-driven read that is truly memorable' Woman & Home

'A heartwarming, charming novel which had me falling in love and desperate to be part of their happy ending' Olivia Beirne

'A gorgeous heart-breaking rollercoaster of a love story that made me laugh and cry in equal measures' Fiona Harper

'Cooper creates characters that come alive with pathos and heart and humour' Magic Radio
  • Published: Jan 09 2020
  • Pages: 448
  • 196 x 128mm
  • ISBN: 9781472265029

Not available for shipping to the following countries:

  • ASM
  • GUM
  • MNP
  • UMI
  • FSM
  • MHL
  • PHL
  • PRI
  • USA
  • VIR
View full details

Press Reviews

  • Praise for THE SONGS OF US:
  • Woman and Home
    A warm and touching novel about love and loss, and the healing power of family
  • Woman
    Poignant and beautifully written
  • Good Housekeeping
    [A] sweet, moving debut
  • Jo Thomas

    This is a very special book indeed: funny, powerful, heart-wrenching and so poignant. I have laughed and cried and cried . . . it reminded me to hold my family close and tell each of them how much I love them
  • Fiona Harper

    The Songs of Us is an emotional rollercoaster of a book that made me laugh and cry in equal measures. A tragically beautiful story of love and loss, family and hope. Emma Cooper has been swiftly added to my list of authors to read
  • Katie Fforde

    Quirky, clever and original, this will break your heart, but put it back together again
  • Josie Silver
    Beautifully observed, tender and genuinely funny. Readers are going to love it!
  • Olivia Beirne

    A heartwarming, charming novel which had me falling in love and desperate to be part of their happy ending.
  • Woman & Home
    An evocative, warm and character-driven read that is truly memorable.
  • Magic Radio
    While this is resolutely a romantic story, the lines of love between friends and family are explored with such depth and delicacy...Cooper creates characters that come alive with pathos and heart and humour.
  • Peterborough Evening Telegraph
    It's a tale to restore your belief in love conquering all... Witty and warm
  • Miranda Dickinson

    A profoundly affecting, beautifully written story packed with heart and hope.
  • Fiona Harper

    Sophie and Sam's story was a gorgeous heart-breaking rollercoaster of a love story that made me laugh and cry in equal measures.
  • Woman
    An evocative, warm and character-driven read
  • Hello
    Fans of authors Jojo Moves and Lucy Dillon will love this touching read from Emma Cooper.
  • Holly Miller

    Funny, original storytelling, an emotional rollercoaster packed with twists and turns that tugged at all my heartstrings