Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

'GORGEOUS' Marian Keyes
  • Author
    • Abbi Waxman
Format
Regular price £10.99
Regular price Sale price £10.99
*The hilarious new novel from Abbi Waxman - I WAS TOLD IT WOULD GET EASIER - is available now*

Abbi Waxman's charming novel follows introvert and bookworm Nina Hill as she discovers if real life can ever live up to fiction... Shortlisted for the Comedy Women In Print Prize, this novel is perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond and Maria Semple.

'GORGEOUS' Marian Keyes

'Like a big slab of your favourite cake in book form' Libby Page, author of The Lido

Meet Nina Hill: A young woman supremely confident in her own. . . shell.

Nina has her life just as she wants it: a job in a bookstore, an excellent trivia team and a cat named Phil. If she sometimes suspects there might be more to life than reading, she just shrugs and picks up a new book.

So when the father she never knew existed dies, leaving behind innumerable sisters, brothers, nieces, and nephews, Nina is horrified. They all live close by! She'll have to Speak. To. Strangers.

And if that wasn't enough, Tom, her trivia nemesis, has turned out to be cute, funny and interested in getting to know her...

It's time for Nina to turn her own fresh page, and find out if real life can ever live up to fiction. . .

Praise for The Bookish Life of Nina Hill...

'Like a conversation with the funniest person you know - just lovely'
KATIE FFORDE

'Charmed by its funny loveliness'
NINA STIBBE, AUTHOR OF REASONS TO BE CHEERFUL

'Book lovers will absolutely relate'
O, THE OPRAH MAGAZINE

'Meet our bookish millennial heroine - a modern-day Elizabeth Bennet'
THE WASHINGTON POST

'A quirky, eccentric romance that will charm any bookworm'
ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY

'I hope you're in the mood to be downright delighted, because that's the state you'll find yourself in'
POPSUGAR
  • Published: Jul 09 2019
  • Pages: 352
  • 196 x 128mm
  • ISBN: 9781472266217

Not available for shipping to the following countries:

  • ASM
  • CAN
  • GUM
  • MNP
  • UMI
  • FSM
  • MHL
  • PHL
  • PRI
  • USA
  • VIR
View full details

Press Reviews

  • Good Housekeeping
    A funny and uplifting debut novel
  • #1 New York Times bestselling author Emily Giffin
    Abbi Waxman is both irreverent and thoughtful
  • Heidi Swain, Sunday Times bestselling author of Summer at Skylark Farm
    Waxman has given us a grow bag full of emotion - witty, uplifting and unashamedly honest
  • HelloGiggles on The Garden of Small Beginnings
    The Garden of Small Beginnings is a quirky, funny, and deeply thoughtful book. . . . We're already dying to know if there will be a sequel
  • Katie Fforde
    Like a conversation with the funniest person you know - just lovely
  • Cathy Hopkins, author of The Kicking the Bucket List
    Cosy, life-affirming read
  • Marian Keyes
    GORGEOUS
  • Nina Stibbe, author of Reasons to be Cheerful
    Charmed by its funny loveliness
  • Libby Page, author of The Lido
    Funny, uplifting and a brilliant reminder of the magic of books. It's just such a deliciously lovely read, like a big slab of your favourite cake in book form.