Skip to product information
1 of 0

Seven for a Secret

  • Author
    • Lyndsay Faye
Format
Regular price £9.99
Regular price Sale price £9.99
'Spectacular' Gillian Flynn. SEVEN FOR A SECRET is the captivating second novel in Lyndsay Faye's Edgar Award-nominated series, for fans of Andrew Taylor and Antonia Hodgson's The Devil in the Marshalsea.

1846: KIDNAP, MURDER, LOVE AND BETRAYAL ON THE LAWLESS STREETS OF NEW YORK.

Timothy Wilde, copper star in the newly formed NYPD, thinks himself hardened to the darker practices of the city he's grown up in. That is, until he encounters the 'blackbirders', slave-catchers with a right to seize runaways from the Southern states.

When a woman reports her family has been stolen, Timothy and his wayward brother Valentine find themselves plunged into an underworld of violence and deceit, where police are complicit and politics savage. If he's to protect all those he cares about, Timothy must unravel the corruption at the heart of the authority he was hired to defend...
  • Published: Jul 17 2014
  • Pages: 496
  • 196 x 130mm
  • ISBN: 9780755386802

Not available for shipping to the following countries:

  • ASM
  • CAN
  • GUM
  • MNP
  • UMI
  • FSM
  • MHL
  • PHL
  • PRI
  • USA
  • VIR
View full details

Press Reviews

  • Gillian Flynn

    This is a series for the ages, it's so spectacular. Really, really just amazing
  • The Sunday Times
    Linguistic panache and narrative drive . . . Faye's vivid recreations of 19th-century New York's melting pot provides the setting for a story that twists towards unexpected conclusions
  • Daily Mail
    Cracking yarn
  • New York Times
    Vibrant
  • Michael Connelly

    Lyndsay Faye's command of historical detail is remarkable and her knowledge of human character even more so. I bought into this world and never once had the desire to leave