Skip to product information
1 of 0

Quieter Than Killing (D.I. Marnie Rome 4)

  • Author
    • Sarah Hilary
Format
Regular price £9.99
Regular price Sale price £9.99
A twisty, gripping, utterly believable DI Marnie Rome story, QUIETER THAN KILLING. From Sarah Hilary, winner of the Theakstons Crime novel of the Year, and for fans of Val McDermid, Alex Marwood and Clare Mackintosh

'Hilary is my drop-everything writer; always original, always bang-on psychologically, always gripping. I am a huge fan' Alex Marwood

'Tremendous' Ian Rankin

It's winter, the nights are dark and freezing, and a series of seemingly random assaults is pulling DI Marnie Rome and DS Noah Jake out onto streets of London. When Marnie's family home is ransacked, there are signs that the burglary can have only been committed by someone who knows her. Then a child goes missing, yet no-one has reported it. Suddenly, events seem connected, and it's personal.

Someone out there is playing games. It is time for both Marnie and Noah to face the truth about the creeping, chilling reaches of a troubled upbringing. Keeping quiet can be a means of survival, but the effects can be as terrible as killing.
  • Published: Oct 05 2017
  • 196 x 128mm
  • ISBN: 9781472226471

Not available for shipping to the following countries:

  • ASM
  • GUM
  • MNP
  • UMI
  • FSM
  • MHL
  • PHL
  • PRI
  • VIR
View full details

Press Reviews

  • Peter James

    Sarah Hilary writes beautifully and unflinchingly; a dark, disturbing and thought-provoking chiller of a thriller
  • The Times
    Sarah Hilary's debut, Someone Else's Skin,was widely acclaimed and won lots of awards. Quieter Than Killing, her fourth, is even more impressive, and DI Marnie Rome is up there in the top division of fictional female detectives
  • Sunday Express, S Magazine
    The most poignant entry in the series so far
  • Book Oxygen
    Well written, well researched and full of issues that set you thinking, Quieter Than Killing is as impressive as it is gripping
  • Observer, Thriller of the Month
    Hilary belts out a corker of a story, all wrapped up in her vivid, effortless prose. If you're not reading this series of London-set police procedurals then you need to start right away
  • Daily Express
    Hilary writes with a menacing intensity...[a] dark, atmospheric novel layered with complexities, keeping the reader guessing throughout and its twist will undoubtedly take your breath away. You will finish the book desperate to read more.
  • Woman & Home
    Masterful
  • Julia Crouch

    It's meaty, dark and terrifying. Unflinchingly violent and beautifully big-hearted in equal measure. And Sarah's writing is glorious - she tells us things in new ways, gives us a fully fleshed, sensual world to inhabit for the novel
  • Caro Ramsay

    I think it must be one of the debut novels of next year, if not THE debut novel... (It will be if there is any justice in the world!)
  • Cath Staincliffe

    Intelligently and fluently written with a clever plot and an energetic pace, dealing with harrowing topics and shot through with humanity, I think Sarah's onto a winning series and I really look forward to reading the next instalment
  • Steven Dunne

    It's written with the verve and assurance of a future star and deserves to be a big hit
  • Helen Dunmore

    It has such pace and force. It's very disturbing and builds up to a terrific climax
  • Richard Jones of Bristol Review of Books

    I finished it today and it's completely brilliant, complex, thrilling, brutal, tender, scary and intriguing. What a great book. The pacing is superb, the plot is compelling, the characters are so well drawn. The ending is ingenious
  • Alex Marwood

    Hilary is my drop-everything writer; always original, always bang-on psychologically, always gripping. I am a huge fan
  • Lizlovesbooks
    Descriptively chilling, completely addictive and with a set of characters and storylines that just dig deep into your subconscious and stay there. Sarah Hilary, with the Marnie Rome series, is without doubt one of the top UK crime writers working today
  • Mick Herron

    It's dark, it's brilliant, and it tightens like a noose. Sarah Hilary is downright dangerous.
  • Tracy Fenton, Founder of THE Book Club and www.compulsivereaders.com

    Another tense and chilling book by one of my favourite authors. I was up way past my bedtime devouring each page
  • Cath Staincliffe

    A compelling read, emotionally intense and intelligent. I love her fierce, flawed characters
  • Angela Clarke

    As tense, twisty, tremendous as ever, Sarah Hilary's QUIETER THAN KILLING nails it
  • Jane Casey

    Hilary's writing is as precise and deadly as a fine blade. Quieter Than Killing is by turns terrifying and tender, with a twisty, gripping plot where no good deed goes unpunished. This is a fine addition to a superb series