Skip to product information
1 of 0

My Last Duchess

The unputdownable epic novel of an American Heiress
  • Author
    • Daisy Goodwin
Format
Regular price £9.99
Regular price Sale price £9.99
MY LAST DUCHESS is the debut novel from Daisy Goodwin, the script writer of the epic ITV Sunday night drama VICTORIA,. A rich, rewarding love story, perfect for readers of Georgette Heyer, and fans of VICTORIA, DOWNTON ABBEY and THE CROWN.

'Sparkling and thoroughly engaging' Sunday Times
'Deliciously classy. An intelligent pleasure, full of exquisite period detail' Kate Mosse

Cora Cash has grown up in a world in which money unlocks every door. Her coming-out ball promises to be the most opulent of the gilded 1890s, a fitting debut for New York's 'princess'. Yet her fortune cannot buy her the one thing she craves -- the freedom to choose her own destiny. For Cora's mother has her heart on a title for her daughter, and in England -- where they are bound, to find Cora a husband.

When Cora loses her heart to a man she barely knows, she soon realises that she is playing a game she does not fully understand -- and that her future happiness is the prize.
  • Published: Jan 06 2011
  • Pages: 512
  • 198 x 132mm
  • ISBN: 9780755348084

Not available for shipping to the following countries:

  • ASM
  • CAN
  • GUM
  • MNP
  • UMI
  • FSM
  • MHL
  • PHL
  • PRI
  • USA
  • VIR
View full details

Press Reviews

  • <I> The Sunday Times </I>
    'Sparkling and thoroughly engaging...the story of a poor little rich girl learning the hard way how to concentrate on the next step along the tightrope makes for a highly enjoyable and intelligent read'
  • <I> Marie Claire </I>
    'Daisy Goodwin's debut novel is a delightful confection - a clash of cultures set in late 19th-century England, embellished with the glittering lavishness that the period implies'
  • Allison Pearson, <i>Telegraph</i>, Books of the Year for Christmas
    'Anyone suffering Downton Abbey withdrawal symptoms (who isn't?) will find an instant tonic in Daisy Goodwin's My Last Duchess...this is a deliciously evocative first novel that lingers in the mind. Henry James with belles on'