Skip to product information
1 of 1

Murder Crossed Her Mind

Pentecost & Parker 4
  • Author
    • Stephen Spotswood
Format
Regular price £14.99
Regular price Sale price £14.99
New York's famed female detective duo, Pentecost and Parker, are back in their fourth audacious adventure. Perfect for fans of The Thursday Murder Club, The Marvellous Mrs. Maisel, Agatha Christie and M. C. Beaton.

When Vera Bodine, an elderly recluse with an exceptional memory, goes missing, detective duo Lillian Pentecost and her assistant Willowjean "Will" Parker are hired to track her down. But New York City in 1947 is a dangerous place, and there's no shortage of people who want to bury the secrets that Bodine has been keeping.
As the clock is ticking to find Bodine alive, circumstances conspire to pull both investigators off the case. Will is hot on the trail of a stick-up team who are using her name - and maybe her gun - for their own ends. While Lillian finds herself up against murder-obsessed millionaire Jessup Quincannon, who has discovered a secret from her past that threatens to destroy her.
To solve this mystery, and defeat their own personal demons, the pair must go nose-to-nose with murderous gangsters, make deals with conniving federal agents, confront Nazi spies, and bend their own ethical rules to the point of breaking - before time runs out for everyone.
  • Published: Dec 07 2023
  • Pages: 384
  • 232 x 152mm
  • ISBN: 9781035409495

Not available for shipping to the following countries:

  • ASM
  • CAN
  • GUM
  • MNP
  • UMI
  • FSM
  • MHL
  • PHL
  • PRI
  • USA
  • VIR
View full details

Press Reviews

  • New York Times
    It's a pleasure to watch [Pentecost and Parker] sifting through red herrings and peeling secrets back like layers of an onion, all while revealing even more of themselves without guilt or shame. Just like his mystery-writing ancestor [Rex Stout], Spotswood understands that the detective story should be sound, but spending time with unforgettable characters is paramount
  • Daily Mail
    A loving, intricately plotted tribute to the great days of American noir
  • NB Magazine
    An excellent plot and brilliant characters
  • Irish Times
    Spotswood fluently blends vintage mystery and noir with a dash of old Hollywood - his wisecracking, side-of-the-mouth dialogue is first rate