Skip to product information
1 of 0

Mosquitoland

'Sparkling, startling, laugh-out-loud' Wall Street Journal
  • Author
    • David Arnold
Format
Regular price £9.99
Regular price Sale price £9.99
A story of the difficulties we face and the strength we find to overcome them, perfect for fans of LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE, THE FAULT IN OUR STARS, and JUNO.

'At last, a Kerouacian adventure for teenage girls' INDEPENDENT

When her parents unexpectedly divorce, Mim Malone is dragged from her beloved home in Ohio to the 'wastelands' of Mississippi, where she lives in a haze of medication with her dad and new (almost certainly evil) stepmom.

But when Mim learns her real mother is ill back home, she escapes her new life and embarks on a rescue mission aboard a Greyhound bus, meeting an assortment of quirky characters along the way.

And when her thousand-mile journey takes a few turns she could never see coming, Mim must confront her own demons, redefining her notions of love, loyalty, and what it means to be sane...

Praise for Mosquitoland:

'A funny, gutsy, straight-talking heroine with a distinctive voice, whose company is a blast of fresh air'
DAILY MAIL

'A joy'
INDEPENDENT, Best YA novels of 2015

'Fresh and often very endearing'
SUNDAY HERALD

'Heartwarming, heartbreaking and hilarious'
USA TODAY

'[A] sparkling, startling, laugh-out-loud debut novel'
WALL STREET JOURNAL

'[A] captivating first novel... illuminating'
WASHINGTON POST

'[A novel that] bucks the usual classifications and stands defiantly alone'
ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY
  • Published: Sep 10 2015
  • Pages: 352
  • 196 x 130mm
  • ISBN: 9781472218902

Not available for shipping to the following countries:

  • ASM
  • CAN
  • GUM
  • MNP
  • UMI
  • FSM
  • MHL
  • PHL
  • PRI
  • USA
  • VIR
View full details

Press Reviews

  • USA Today
    At times heartwarming, heartbreaking and hilarious, but always maintaining a distinctly innocent brilliance
  • Publishers Weekly
    There is no shortage of humor in Mim's musings, interspersed with tender scenes and a few heart-pounding surprises. Mim's triumphant evolution is well worth the journey
  • Wall Street Journal
    [A] sparkling, startling, laugh-out-loud debut novel
  • Washington Post
    [A] captivating first novel... illuminating
  • Entertainment Weekly
    A breath of fresh air... [a novel that] bucks the usual classifications and stands defiantly alone
  • People
    Memorable
  • Kirkus Reviews
    A stunning debut... mesmerizing
  • Sunday Herald
    Fresh and often very endearing
  • Daily Mail
    [Mosquitoland] boasts a funny, gutsy, straight-talking heroine with a distinctive voice, whose company is a blast of fresh air
  • Independent
    Invigorating and humourous... At last a Kerouacian adventure for teenage girls
  • Independent - Best YA novels of 2015
    [Mim's] endless wise-cracking (on a road trip by Greyhound bus to visit her sick mother) is a joy
  • The Tattoed Book
    Mim is possibly one of the mostly lovable YA characters I've ever had the pleasure of reading... Definitely one of the best YA novels of 2015