Skip to product information
1 of 0

It Was Always You

a page-turning and uplifting love story you will never forget
  • Author
    • Emma Cooper
Format
Regular price £10.99
Regular price Sale price £10.99
Would you choose a different life if you had the chance?

'Spellbinding from start to finish'
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'If you read nothing else this year - read this'
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'A beautiful, heart-warming and heart-breaking read'
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Cosy up with the unforgettable new novel from the author of The Songs of Us. If you love Cecilia Ahern and Holly Miller, you'll adore this heart-warming novel.
'Absolutely magical! So romantic and heartfelt' JOSIE SILVER

On the last night in October 1999 the clocks went back, and Ella and Will's love began.

A teenage Ella sat around a bonfire drinking with her future husband and her oldest friend Cole.

As Ella wandered away from the group, she found herself leaning against a derelict
archway before passing out.

The next day, Ella remembered fractured images of a conversation with a woman in a green coat and red scarf but dismissed it as a drunken dream.

Twenty-three years later, with her marriage to Will in trouble, and Cole spiralling out of control, Ella opens a gift which turns her life upside down: a green coat and red scarf.

When she looks in the mirror, the woman from the archway is reflected back at her.

As the last Sunday in October arrives, Ella is faced with a choice. Would she choose a different life, if she could do it again?

'A beautiful, moving and heart-wrenching book' EMILY STONE
'Romantic, heart-breaking and a real page-turner' OLIVIA BEIRNE

Readers love Emma Cooper

'Recommended for fans of Jojo Moyes, Marian Keyes and Katie Fforde'

'Powerful and immersive, heart-wrenching and hopeful'

'Buy this book. You will not be disappointed for a second!'

'I laughed and cried throughout this book'

'I was hooked from the beginning'

'A wonderful, life-affirming novel'

'I absolutely adored it from start to finish'

'A wonderful read that will stay with me for a long time'

'I really can't recommend this book enough!'

'So powerful and poignant... a beautifully written book'

'This book is funny, heart-warming and life-affirming. Basically ALL THE FEELS'
  • Published: Sep 01 2022
  • Pages: 448
  • 196 x 126mm
  • ISBN: 9781472288912

Not available for shipping to the following countries:

  • ASM
  • GUM
  • MNP
  • UMI
  • FSM
  • MHL
  • PHL
  • PRI
  • USA
  • VIR
View full details

Press Reviews

  • Holly Miller

    A poignant story about love, loss and letting go. . . sensitively handled and beautifully written
  • Praise for Emma Cooper:
  • Miranda Dickinson

    Gorgeous, tender, spine-tingling storytelling - an absolute hear-rending joy
  • Hello
    Fans of authors Jojo Moyes and Lucy Dillon will love this touching read
  • Bella
    Heartwarming and uplifting
  • Woman & Home
    An evocative, warm and character-driven read that is truly memorable
  • Fiona Harper

    A gorgeous heart-breaking rollercoaster of a love story that made me laugh and cry in equal measures
  • Clare Swatman

    This book had me hooked from the beginning . . . Equal parts funny, sad and poignant, and as a teen of the 1990s too, I absolutely loved the nostalgia. A complete triumph
  • Olivia Beirne

    THIS BOOK! My favourite Emma Cooper book to date. It's romantic, heart-breaking and a real page-turner. I had no idea what was going to happen and I loved every second. It's left me with a book hangover. I LOVED IT!
  • Emily Stone

    A beautiful, moving, and heart wrenching book to give you all the feels. A real page-turning plot, but it's the characters who make it: Will, Ella and Cole are three brilliantly real characters who you can't help but want to spend time with, all the way to the heart stopping conclusion.
  • Josie Silver

    Absolutely magical! Emma always creates such wonderfully compelling characters, they jump off the page and into your heart. So romantic and heartfelt, I didn't want it to end