Skip to product information
1 of 0

Grist Mill Road

Everyone knows what happened. No one knows why.
  • Author
    • Christopher J. Yates
Format
Regular price £8.99
Regular price Sale price £8.99
'Darkly, intricately layered, full of pitfalls and switchbacks, moving and merciless' Sunday Times bestseller Tana French

A gripping, heart-stopping and strikingly original thriller about friendship, family and revenge, perfect for fans of THE SILENT PATIENT, Lucy Foley's THE HUNTING PARTY and Peter Swanson's THE KIND WORTH KILLING.

'A must-read novel . . . Spine-tingling' Hello!

It all began on Grist Mill Road . . .

Matthew and Hannah were just playing in the woods, a little way from home.
But now he's tying Hannah to a tree. And she has never been so terrified.
Patrick is there too, hidden, watching. He can't move.
He can't take his eyes off Matthew's gun.

Years later, in New York City, leading adult lives they never would have imagined, the three will meet again. With even more devastating consequences.

'Arresting . . . Sophisticated . . . Elegant' New York Times

'Dark, compelling and beautifully written, Grist Mill Road absolutely captivated me' Cass Green, author of In A Cottage In A Wood

'At once disturbing and discomforting, at the same time as being excitingly un-put-down-able . . . A superbly written psychological thriller with the power and deadly ferocity of a harpoon' Shots magazine

'I couldn't put Grist Mill Road down. Yates is particularly brilliant on the dark urgency of adolescence, and conjuring up a sense of place . . . I loved it' Eve Chase, author of Black Rabbit Hall and The Vanishing of Audrey Wilde

'Dark, intense, and disturbing . . . A thriller with imagination to spare' Krysten Ritter

'A sinister, plot-twisty tale . . . Intelligent' Oprah.com

'If you like layered, psychological suspense stories then I highly recommend Grist Mill Road. 5 stars!!!' Goodreads reviewer

  • Published: Aug 09 2018
  • Pages: 416
  • 197 x 129mm
  • ISBN: 9781472258892
View full details

Press Reviews

  • Tana French

    Darkly, intricately layered, full of pitfalls and switchbacks, smart and funny and moving and merciless
  • Oprah.com
    A sinister, plot-twisty tale . . . intelligent
  • New York Times
    Arresting . . . Sophisticated . . . Elegant narrative
  • Krysten Ritter

    Dark, intense, and disturbing . . . A thriller with imagination to spare
  • Booklist
    The intensity of the storytelling is exhilarating and unsettling
  • People </i>magazine<i>
    Twisty and told from multiple perspectives, this meaty thriller races to a satisfying finish
  • USA Today
    A dark, roving psychological thriller . . . Irresistibly readable
  • Jason Matthews, author of <i>Red Sparrow</i>

    Grist Mill Road is a terrific thriller . . . A gripping read
  • Jung Yun, author of <i>Shelter</i>

    An intricately crafted novel about adult lives forever changed by closely held childhood secrets. Grist Mill Road is a compulsive read that will unsettle you from its first page and surprise you until its very last
  • BBC.com
    [A] complex and propulsive whodunnit laced with questions about moral responsibility, the relativity of truth, the reliability of memory and the long-term consequences of our actions
  • San Diego Magazine
    Grist Mill Road is full of tension and unexpected twists
  • Cass Green, author of <i>In A Cottage In A Wood</i>

    Best thing I've read in a while . . . Dark, compelling and beautifully written, Grist Mill Road absolutely captivated me
  • Image magazine
    Brilliantly twisted, this is one heck of a sinister page-turner
  • Eve Chase, author of <i>The Vanishing of Audrey Wilde</i>

    I couldn't put Grist Mill Road down. Yates is particularly brilliant on the dark urgency of adolescence, and conjuring up a sense of place . . . I loved it
  • Tony R. Cox

    Shots </i>magazine<i>
    At once disturbing and discomforting, at the same time as being excitingly un-put-down-able . . . A superbly written psychological thriller with the power and deadly ferocity of a harpoon
  • The Sun
    Dark and compelling
  • Hello!
    Christopher J Yates weaves a chilling tale in this summer's must-read novel . . . Prepare to be kept on the edge of your seat with this spine-tingling thriller
  • Cosmopolitan
    Compelling