Skip to product information
1 of 0

Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke

an epic tale of secrets and survival
  • Author
    • Anne Blankman
Format
Regular price £9.99
Regular price Sale price £9.99
The gripping sequel to Prisoner of Night and Fog. The epic tale of one young woman racing to save the man she loves during one of history's darkest hours. For fans of The Book Thief and Beneath a Scarlet Sky.'

'It's terrifying and incredible to think how much of this story is true' Elizabeth Wein, author of Code Name Verity on Prisoner of Night and Fog

Gretchen Muller has three rules for her new life:

1. Blend into the surroundings
2. Don't tell anyone who you really are
3. Never, ever go back to Germany

Gretchen Whitestone has a secret: she used to be part of Adolf Hitler's inner circle. When she made an enemy of her former friends, she fled Munich for Oxford with her love, Daniel Cohen. But then a telegram calls Daniel back to Germany, and Gretchen's world turns upside down when he is accused of murder.

To save Daniel, Gretchen must return to her homeland and somehow avoid capture by the Nazi elite. As they work to clear Daniel's name, they discover a deadly conspiracy stretching from the slums of Berlin to the Reichstag itself. Can they dig up the explosive truth and escape in time - or will Hitler find them first?
  • Published: Nov 05 2015
  • Pages: 384
  • 196 x 126mm
  • ISBN: 9781472207876

Not available for shipping to the following countries:

  • ASM
  • CAN
  • GUM
  • MNP
  • UMI
  • FSM
  • MHL
  • PHL
  • PRI
  • USA
  • VIR
View full details

Press Reviews

  • Elizabeth Wein, author of CODENAME VERITY

    I'm in awed envy of the daring with which Anne Blankman plunges into her difficult and sensitive subject matter. To read Prisoner of Night and Fog is to be immersed in a breathtaking evocation of Munich in the 1930s, where life is ordinary and skin-crawling by turns, and in the painful, hopeful story of one young girl's awakening conscience. It's terrifying and incredible to think how much of this story is true
  • www.lizlovesbooks.com
    A tremendously cleverly constructed and terrifically compelling story that puts you right back into History - I read this one obsessively and felt every single moment
  • www.realmoffiction.blogspot.co.uk
    I haven't liked a historical fiction novel quite this much since Elizabeth Wein's Rose Under Fire. Prisoner of Night and Fog is completely absorbing. It's well-written and clever, and the sort of book that lingers in your thoughts well after the final pages
  • Publishers Weekly (starred review)
    Completely engrossing
  • Kirkus Reviews
    Suspenseful and clever, intertwining historical truth with action-packed shootouts
  • Booklist
    The book's meld of romance, action, and thriller is utterly convincing... a heady sweep of truth and fiction. The mystery, revolving around Göring and a mistress he might have killed, twists effectively, ramping up to a real-life historical conspiracy