Skip to product information
1 of 1

A Restless Evil (Mitchell & Markby 14)

An English village murder mystery of intrigue and suspicion
  • Author
    • Ann Granger
Regular price £9.99
Regular price Sale price £9.99
A new investigation on an old case will bring shocking revelations to light...

An old case Markby failed to solve over two decades ago resurfaces after the discovery of skeletal remains in A Restless Evil, the fourteenth gripping English village murder mystery in Ann Granger's Mitchell & Markby series. The perfect read for fans of Rebecca Tope, Agatha Christie and ITV's Midsomer Murders.

'A gripping thriller. Ann Granger beautifully evokes a mellow village seemingly tranquil on the surface but bubbling with secrets underneath' - Huddersfield Daily Examiner

It sends a shiver down Detective Superintendent Alan Markby's spine when he hears that a rambler has stumbled on human bones in Stovey Woods in the heart of the Cotswolds. Twenty-two years ago, as a fresh-faced young inspector, he had a rare failure in the hunt for a brutal serial rapist preying on local women. After the third rape, the attacker went to ground, never to be heard of again.

Now, with a new investigation prompted by the grisly remains, the trail could be warm once more. But almost at once Markby is confronted with another body and a thoroughly up-to-date murder. Could the two be connected? It seems that some of the village residents would be just as happy to let sleeping dogs lie and secrets - both old and new - stay hidden...

What readers are saying about A Restless Evil:

'The writing is first-class and Ann Granger's world tangs with reality'

'A very good, well-plotted and well-written mystery that keeps one guessing to the end'

'An atmospheric and absorbing story'
  • Published: Nov 04 2002
  • Pages: 352
  • 177 x 117mm
  • ISBN: 9780747268048

Not available for shipping to the following countries:

  • ASM
  • GUM
  • MNP
  • UMI
  • FSM
  • MHL
  • PHL
  • PRI
  • USA
  • VIR
View full details

Press Reviews

  • The Times
    Praise for Ann Granger's Mitchell & Markby series: 'A good feel for understated humour, a nice ear for dialogue'
  • Margaret Yorke
    'A delightful pair of sleuths'
  • Publishers Weekly
    'To be savoured by connoisseurs of characterisation'
  • Cotswold Life
    'Her characterisation is excellent'
  • Crime Time
    'Good plotting and believable motivation'